Prime Minister Justin Trudeau unveiled a substantial cabinet shakeup Wednesday as he prepares his team for the next federal election.

He shuffled a number of positions and added five new cabinet members. The prime minister also made some adjustments to current positions.  

Here’s the complete cabinet list as it now stands.

New ministers, those who have been shuffled  

  • François-Philippe Champagne, Infrastructure and Communities Minister, previously Minister of International Trade
  • Jim Carr, International Trade Diversification Minister, previously Minister of Natural Resources
  • Mélanie Joly, Minister of Tourism, Official Languages and La Francophonie, previously Minister of Canadian Heritage
  • Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Intergovernmental and Northern Affairs and Internal Trade. LeBlanc will also become President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. He was previously Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
  • Amarjeet Sohi, Natural Resources Minister, previously Minister of Infrastructure and Communities
  • Bill Blair, Border Security and Organized Crime Reduction Minister, new position
  • Filomena Tassi, Minister of Seniors, new position
  • Pablo Rodriguez,  Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism, newly appointed
  • Jonathan Wilkinson, Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard, newly appointed
  • Mary Ng, Minister of Small Business and Export Promotion, newly appointed

Trudeau also changed some ministers’ existing titles/responsibilities

  • Carla Qualtrough, remains Minister of Public Services and Procurement, with the additional responsibility of Accessibility
  • Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations  
  • Scott Brison, President of the Treasury Board
  • Marie-Claude Bibeau, Minister of International Development  
  • Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and Sport  
  • Bardish Chagger, Government House Leader

Positions that remain the same

  • Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister
  • Ralph Goodale, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
  • Lawrence MacAulay, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food
  • Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development
  • Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance
  • Jody Wilson-Raybould, Minister of Justice, Attorney General of Canada
  • Chrystia Freeland, Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Jane Philpott, Minister of Indigenous Services
  • Jean-Yves Duclos, Minister of Families, Children and Social Development
  • Marc Garneau, Minister of Transport
  • Diane Lebouthillier, Minister of National Revenue
  • Catherine McKenna, Minister of Environment and Climate Change
  • Harjit S. Sajjan, Minister of National Defence
  • Maryam Monsef, Minister of Status of Women
  • Patty Hajdu, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour
  • Karina Gould, Minister of Democratic Institutions
  • Ahmed Hussen, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship
  • Ginette Petitpas Taylor, Minister of Health
  • Seamus O'Regan, Minister of Veterans Affairs, Associate Minister of National Defence


poll image

Which of these is the most important cabinet shuffle?

    Total Results: 0