OTTAWA - Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is naming a new cabinet that both highlights Liberal campaign priorities and tries to address concerns raised by his rivals.

Chrystia Freeland, who gained a high profile as foreign-affairs minister, is turning mainly to domestic problems as minister of intergovernmental affairs as Trudeau grapples with strong opposition from some western premiers and rising nationalist sentiment in Quebec.

She is also taking on the title of deputy prime minister, a symbol of the key role she plays in the Liberal government.

Francois-Philippe Champagne is succeeding her as foreign minister, while Finance Minister Bill Morneau is staying in his job.

There are now 37 members of cabinet, including Trudeau -- up from 35.

Trudeau has also appointed Manitoba Liberal MP Jim Carr, who was most recently the international trade minister, to be a special representative for the Prairies.

Here is a complete list of the new cabinet. 

  • Chrystia Freeland: Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Anita Anand: Minister of Public Services and Procurement
  • Navdeep Bains: Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry
  • Carolyn Bennett: Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations
  • Marie-Claude Bibeau: Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food
  • Bill Blair: Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
  • Bardish Chagger: Minister of Diversity, Inclusion and Youth
  • Francois-Philippe Champagne: Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Jean-Yves Duclos: President of the Treasury Board
  • Mona Fortier: Minister of Middle-Class Prosperity and Associate Minister of Finance
  • Marc Garneau: Minister of Transport
  • Karina Gould: Minister of International Development
  • Steven Guilbeault: Minister of Canadian Heritage
  • Patty Hajdu: Minister of Health
  • Ahmed Hussen: Minister of Families, Children and Social Development
  • Melanie Joly: Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages
  • Bernadette Jordan: Minister of Fisheries and Oceans and Canadian Coast Guard
  • David Lametti: Minister of Justice and Attorney-General
  • Dominic Leblanc: President of the Queen’s Privy Council of Canada
  • Diane Lebouthillier: Minister of National Revenue
  • Lawrence MacAulay: Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence
  • Catherine McKenna : Minister of Infrastructure and Communities
  • Marco Mendicino: Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship
  • Marc Miller: Minister of Indigenous Services
  • Maryam Monsef: Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Minister of Rural Economic Development
  • Bill Morneau: Minister of Finance
  • Joyce Murray: Minister of Digital Government
  • Mary Ng: Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade
  • Seamus O’Regan: Minister of Natural Resources
  • Carla Qualtrough: Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Accessibility
  • Pablo Rodriguez: Leader of the Government in the House of Commons and Quebec Lieutenant
  • Harjit Sajjan: Minister of National Defence
  • Deb Schulte: Minister of Seniors
  • Filomena Tassi: Minister of Labour
  • Dan Vandal: Minister of Northern Affairs
  • Jonathan Wilkinson: Minister of Environment and Climate Change

With files from CTV News