(Bloomberg) -- The U.K has confirmed two cases of the new Covid-19 strain omicron, Health Minister Sajid Javid said. 

“The two cases are linked and there is a connection with travel to southern Africa,” Javid said on Twitter. 

The U.K. will add four more southern African countries -- Malawi, Mozambique, Zambia and Angola -- to its travel “red list” effective 4 a.m. local time on Sunday, he said. People returning from red-list countries face a mandatory 10-day quarantine at a managed hotel at their own expense.

The two individuals and their households -- one in Chelmsford and one in Nottingham -- are self-isolating, and contact tracing is ongoing, according to the U.K. Health Security Agency. All involved will be re-tested.  

Ten African countries are now on the U.K.’s red list. The HSA is following up on recent arrivals from the countries, it said in a release. 

Flights from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini and Zimbabwe were suspended from midday on Friday.   

(Updates with four more countries on red list, in third paragraph.)

©2021 Bloomberg L.P.